What do you mean it’s almost Christmas?

12295252_10207368960077885_3935290174590407315_nI have come to the conclusion that blogging is not my thing. It just takes dedication and time (which I truly lack-time that is). I don’t care about being seen, read or liked. I just want to be able to look back, read my notes and reminisce.

With that being said, let’s catch up. What’s been going on?

The Child moved out of the house and into the dorms. Her first semester of college is officially over and she did quite well. She is back home for a couple of weeks.

The Big Child has gone thru a bit of a rough time lately. Her father passed away about a month ago. It was unexpected and sudden. He was only 49. It has really hit her hard, but she is a fighter and is working thru it.

The In-Laws came to visit for about 10 days. We went to Cape Canaveral and did the NASA thing. Spent some time at the beach, visited with my family here and did Thanksgiving. Papa says that it was the first time that he enjoyed visiting the US. We even took them to Little Havana and it was a blast. They loved plantains (sweet and salty, but especially sweet).

Papa told us to think twice about going to Germany, since we are doing so well here. Of course they would love to have us nearby. He said that they would support us and love us on whatever we decided and understood that it was a tough decision. After they left, we started having doubts about the move. I am not a religious person, but I prayed that we could receive a sign to guide us on the right direction. Last week at work, we were informed that they will have to cut 5% of our work force globally. A lot of us were offered Voluntary Separation Packages. It was the sign we were looking for. After discussing it with The Hubs, I signed up. The timing could not be better. It feels kind of weird to know that I will not be working in a few months. I know it will be a temporary thing, so I plan on using the time wisely and get the move all organized.

Christmas is in 8 days and I am looking forward to having both kids with us. We have planned some stuff that will be fun. I am grateful for this opportunity to be together for our last holiday season in the US.

About Frau Frey

Happily married to my best friend. I have two wonderful children, one 28 and one 19. The purpose of this blog is to chronicle the changes we are making in the next 15 months. Our daughter's going away to college and our move back to my husband's home in Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment